Rs 160 crore rehabilitation programme for NDFB cadres | Implementation of BTR Accord reviewed

0 15

Guwahati, June 07 (NKTV): A meeting held under the direction of Assam Chief Minister Himanta Biswa Sarma to review the status of implementation of BTR Accord today, approved a rehabilitation programme for 4,036 NDFB cadres involving Rs 160 crore.

The meeting took place in Chief Minister’s Office today stated that the rehabilitation programme for the NDFB cadres would be conceptualised and designed by the BTC in association with State Institute for Panchayat and Rural Development, which would be coordinated by Inspector General Special Branch of Assam Police Hiren Nath. Under the programme, skill development training would be imparted to 4,036 NDFB cadres in several parts of the BTR for their socio-economic development.

The meeting took place in presence of Minister for Welfare of Plain Tribes and Backward Classes (only BTC) Urkhao Gwra Brahma, Chief Executive Member BTC Promod Boro and several executive members also decided to expedite the means for empowering the Council to enable the BTR Accord singed on January 27, 2020 to usher in renewed peace. Identity of the Bodo people, their culture, language and education aspects were also discussed.

CM Sarma also advocated to promote and build a social empowerment narrative around Bodofa Upendra Nath Brahma’s philosophy for the Bodo people.

The CM directed to expeditiously complete the construction of the Cultural Complex cum Centre of Excellence to be built in the name in the name of Bodofa Upendra Nath Brahma along with other development works which are intrinsically associated with the pride and prestige of the Bodo people. The meeting also decided that the Welfare of Plain Tribes and Backward Classes (for BTC) to be reconstituted and renamed as BTC Affairs Department which will work exclusively for the welfare of the Bodo people.

Sarma also said that office cum residential quarters for the IGP, DIG, Additional SPs and DSPs should be built in the BTR districts within a stipulated time frame.

Chief Secretary Jishnu Baruah, Special DGP L.R. Bishnoi, Special DGP G.P. Singh, Principal Secretary to the Chief Minister Samir Kumar Sinha, Principal Secretary Home and Political Neeraj Verma, Principal Secretary WPT&BC Mukesh Sahu, Principal Secretary Revenue Avinash Joshi, Principal Secretary Education B. Kalyan Chakravarthy, IGP SB Hiren Nath, Commissioner and Secretary Education Preetom Saikia and other senior officers of the government were present at the meeting.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.