Assam CM to be conferred with the Lee Kuan Yew Exchange Fellowship

0 153

Chief Minister Dr. Himanta Biswa Sarma has been bestowed with the Lee Kuan Yew Exchange Fellowship. As part of the Fellowship, the Chief Minister has been extended the invitation to visit Singapore as a Lee Kuan Yew Fellow for his dedicated leadership in public works and development.

The prestigious Fellow is conferred on outstanding individuals in recognition to their potential contributions to the development of their nation and to bilateral relations with Singapore. The Lee Kuan Yew Exchange Fellowship was launched as a tribute to Mr. Lee Kuan Yew, Singapore’s founding Prime Minister for his contributions to the nation. The Patron of the Fellowship is the Prime Minister of Singapore.

Chief Minister Dr. Himanta Biswa Sarma has been chosen for the award in recognition to his immense role in championing the cause of development and international harmony. Dr. Sarma has become the first Chief Minister from Assam to have been bestowed with this prestigious fellowship. With this conferment, Chief Minister Dr. Sarma has joined the likes of former Union Minister Arun Shourie, Madhya Pradesh Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan, and former Vice Chairman of Planning Commission Montek Singh Ahluwalia. Established in 1991, the LKYEF invites outstanding individuals for high-level visits to Singapore.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.