1,351 candidates to contest in third phase of Lok Sabha Polls

0 18

A total of 1,351 candidates are in the fray for 95 parliamentary constituencies from 12 states and Union Territories in the third phase of the Lok Sabha Elections 2024. This includes eight contesting candidates for the adjourned poll in the 29-Betul (ST) Parliamentary Constituency of Madhya Pradesh. Additionally, one candidate from Surat Parliamentary Constituency in Gujarat has been elected unopposed. Yesterday was the last date for the withdrawal of candidature for the third phase of the elections. 

The Commission added that a total of 2 thousand 963 nominations were filed for 95 parliamentary constituencies, including the Betul Lok Sabha seat, across 12 states and UTs going for polls in the third phase. After the scrutiny of all nominations filed, 1,563 nominations were found valid.

In the third phase, polling will be held on May 7 for 26 Lok Sabha seats in Gujarat, 14 Lok Sabha seats in Karnataka, 11 Lok Sabha seats in Maharashtra, 10 in Uttar Pradesh, 9 in Madhya Pradesh, 7 in Chhattisgarh, 5 in Bihar, 4 each in Assam and West Bengal, 2 each in Goa and Dadra & Nagar Haveli and Daman and one Lok Sabha seat in Jammu and Kashmir.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.